Skip to main content

Samsung Galaxy Alpha Private Mode: How to Enable, Disable, Use Private Mode

Similar to the Galaxy S5, the new Samsung Galaxy Alpha also offers a convenient way to hide files you don't want to be accessed or viewed by others. This is made possible with its built-in feature called the Private Mode.

When you're in Private Mode, you can view all your photos, videous and other files. You can exit Private Mode if you let others use your device and rest assured any of your personal files will be hidden, unless they know the unlock code or pattern you've set.

This guide will walk you through the steps in using, activating and deactivating the Private Mode on your Galaxy Alpha.



A. Enable/Disable Private Mode


1. Tap on Apps from the Home screen to get started.

2. Next, tap on Settings.

3. Tap on Private Mode under Settings to proceed.

4. Tap the Private mode switch to turn it on or enabled.

5. Enter your Private mode PIN.

6. To disable Private mode, tap the Private mode switch to turn it OFF, and then tap OK to deactivate the feature.

B. Use Private Mode on your Galaxy Alpha


1. Tap on Apps from the Home screen.

2. Select Settings to continue.

3. Under Settings, tap on Private Mode.

Hint:

An alternative method for this is through opening the Notification panel or Quick settings panel, and then tapping on Private mode to activate the feature.

4. When prompted, read the on-screen information and tap Next to continue.

5. View the type of content that can be saved in private mode, and then tap Next.

6. When prompted, read the on-screen information on how to use Private mode, and then tap Start.

7. Set up and assign an unlock code and backup PIN.

An indication that the Private mode is already enabled or activated is the private mode icon
showing on the indicator bar.


8. Now choose the items you want to mark as Private, while using Private mode.

9. Once you're done selecting all the items to be tagged as private, tap on the More button, and select Move to Private. Doing so will then make the selected items hidden to other users when Private mode is disabled.

More Hints:

  • You will know that an item is hidden when you see the private mode icon on them.
  • To hide the items you've selected, get to Apps, tap on Settings, select Private mode, and then drag the Private mode switch to the left
  • Another way is to open the Notifications panel or quick settings panel, and then tap on Private mode to deactivate it. All the selected items will now disappear from the screen.

How to remove an item from Private Mode


Follow these steps to remove an item from Private Mode:

1. Select the item(s) you want to remove from private mode.
2. Tap on the More icon (three-vertical-dots icon) on the upper-right corner of the screen.
3. Select Remove from Private. 

The selected item(s) will no longer be hidden or secured, thus viewable by other users of your device.

How to view hidden items


Follow these steps to view hidden items on your Galaxy Alpha:

1. Tap on Apps.
2. Tap My Files.
3. Select Private directory.

All the items you've added in private mode should now display on the screen.

And that concludes this guide on using Private Mode on Samsung Galaxy Alpha.





Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Quick fix on Samsung Galaxy S4 "Unfortunately App has stopped"error

Quick fix on Samsung Galaxy S4 "Unfortunately App has stopped"error One of the most common issues that we are always receiving for the past several months is app problem. In fact, there were lots of users complaining about it wherein according to some owners that the error message "Unfortunately App has stopped" keeps on showing up out of the blue once they have to open a certain app So, in this post, we have to isolate that issue by considering all possibilities to know what the real problem is and fix it. Don't you worry, this is just a minor problem and you can easily fix it without bringing your Galaxy S4 to the tech. So to start with the troubleshooting, here are the procedures that we suggest you to do: Step 1: Reset the App In this method, we will bring back the app to it's factory default by deleting all caches and data stored in the app for it might be corrupted or outdated and caused the issue. But don't you worry, this step won't ru...

Samsung Galaxy Note 4 T-Mobile Wi-Fi Calling [Starters Guide]

Wi-Fi Calling is among the features offered to T-Mobile customers of Samsung Galaxy Note devices including Note 3 and Note 4. It's considered an excellent solution for coverage issues in and around the house or any place where cellular coverage is limited. Wi-Fi calling is enabled by default. This means your device will connect automatically after you successfully connect to a wireless network. This guide will help you manage Wi-Fi Calling feature on your Galaxy Note 4 T-mobile version. One of the first requisites to use Wi-Fi calling is to register your 911 address at T-mobile website. This must be done to avoid getting the REG09 error upon using the feature. After you've successfully registered your 911 address, you may now proceed with the following: A. Set up your Galaxy Note 4 to use Wi-Fi or mobile networks Follow these steps to set the connection preference for your Note 4 device and use Wi-Fi calling or mobile networks: 1. Enable Wi-Fi and connect to a Wi-...

Adding Auto-fill Profile or Credit Card Info in Samsung Galaxy S5 browser

One of the recommended solutions given to those who have been encountering browser issues with the Galaxy S5 is adding an auto-fill profile or credit card in the browser settings. This method is particularly applicable or used when you are having trouble auto-filling profile or credit card information using the Samsung Galaxy S5 Internet or Chrome browser app. Here's how to add auto-fill profile or credit card in your GS 5 browser settings: